top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureJessica

Are old friends still good friends?

This is an interesting one. So, way back when, my very best friend in primary school and I used to be inseparable, honestly practically joined at the hip. But naturally the meandering passage of time slowly took its course and as such we drifted away from one another. Recently, I discovered that my old friend from such a long time ago had recently given birth to a beautiful baby boy. Not only this, I found out that during the 6th month of her pregnancy her father sadly died of a heart attack. I was devastated for her. My father also had a heart attack in the same month and they were the same age. But my father survived. Life if so unfair, right? I sat and sobbed when I found out, contemplating just how lucky I was that my dad had been spared yet how life could be so cruel to another just as deserving.



Anyway, I reached out to her and we met for coffee. Honestly, it was beautiful. I cuddled her tiny bundle of joy for hours and fell instantly in love, I realised that already I had acquired another nephew. It is an extraordinary thing to understand that love at first sight is real, contrary to Frozen’s ‘you can’t love someone you just met’ ideology.

It made me realise that, these very special bonds are all around us and sometimes it is just a case of sending a frigging message. It’s not difficult, not in this day and age with social media pioneering the age of communication, there really is no excuse for not putting yourself out there. I see now that despite not talking to my friend for over six years, we are just the same as we always were and we can help, guide and support one another through life’s shit! There’s no doubt, I can’t bring back her wonderful Dad, but I can remind her everyday how proud he was of her and what a phenomenal job she is doing as a mum.

For all you mums out there who are going through something difficult, have faith that people do care, they just perhaps haven’t reached out yet.

For all of you that are feeling that ‘I really should drop her/him a message’ but never quite get round to it, SEND THE BLOODY MESSAGE!

Be a good friend, the time and distance are immaterial.

You never know what gifts one message to an old friend may bring.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page