top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureJessica

My random acts of kindness revolution!


I have been thinking a lot lately about some very easy ways that take no time at all out of my day to improve someone else’s. I have also been looking at a lot of blogs out there which explore similar concepts and I just really wanted to congratulate them on their generosity, kindness and selflessness. It really does fill me with a lot of joy and restores my faith in humanity.

So, over the next few weeks I will be taking part in the ‘random acts of kindness revolution’ and I will be blogging about it as I go. If you have any ideas that you would like me to consider, I would (as always) be delighted to hear from you.

My desire to partake in the random acts of kindness revolution was really intensified the other day when I had a client in, he was absolutely wonderful but really going through it. He explained that he was extremely stressed, with a multitude of different issues hanging over him, including relationship diffulties, employment issues an also battling with a number of longstanding mental health disorders.

He called me up in a real mes;, he had somehow caused a strain in his lower back which was drastically restricting his mobility and as such he was resorting to popping pain killers like nobody’s business. I managed to move things around in the diary for him so that I could get him in sooners rather than later. He was in extreme pain when he arrived, quite literally hobbling in, double up in pain. It turned out he had irritated his sacroiliac joint (the fuse in the pelvic structure) which he had suffered with before at different phases in his life.


I spent perhaps longer than I usually would going through the consultation with him, making sure I wasn’t going to worsen his condition. Once I was satisfied that treatment would be suitable I helped him onto the massage couch (he was able to undress himself luckily, so I left the room as normal and returned when he was ready). He seemed immediately better when he was able to lie flat, which was a relief for me as I had some concerns that the treatment, although beneficial for him, would still cause some pain here and there.


As he relaxed further, he began telling me about his life and his journey, as most of my clients do. I really enjoy that stage in the treatment as it shows me that the client feels safe in their vulnerability and I can feel their trust in me as I try to help them resolve their issues both physically and emotionally.

I find it is really useful to ‘let my clients in’ too, I often tell them of my journey, my struggles and my achievements – it helps them to feel at ease with me and also takes away negative ‘alien’ energies that you have when you meet a stranger for the first time.

We spoke for a long time and I really felt like I knew him well in such a short space of time. Here my ability to empathise is key to building that kind of rapport, which I believe I managed well.

I went through the massage sequence and regularly checked in with him to make sure it was indeed helping and not hurting!


To my surprise at one stage he even announced that ‘he was the most relaxed he had been in as long as he could remember’ and that he ‘wished he could pause time and just enjoy being pain-free for a little while longer’

As a therapist, this kind of reaction is genuinely the most rewarding, you really feel like you are doing a lot of good in the world and the late nights and long hours are totally worth it.

After the treatment, I took him through some simple aftercare advice and we discussed some simple strategies to help him unwind and relax when he got home. I also reassured him that my clients are always welcome at Harmony HQ, even if they just need a coffee and a chat, as long as my diary permits it I will make time for them to come and ‘just be’.

He was baffled.

‘Really?’ He replied after a short hesitation. ‘

'Why?’

I took a second to respond.

‘Because I am here and I care’

A tear appeared in his eye and he came back with ‘You don’t know how much something so small can make such a difference to someone, you have truly made my day, thank you’

When he had left, it got me thinking. I say the same things to my client and they truly are ALWAYS welcome, anytime.

BUT can I do more?

I absolutely CAN

So I absolutely WILL!
5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page